Newbee; 1992 RS questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2005, 11:36 PM
Default Newbee; 1992 RS questions

Hello, I just acquired a 92 Camaro RS from my mother (original owner) that is in pretty rough shape. The body and drive train are in good shape, but it needs paint and a lot of little stuff -- new struts for the front hood and rear hatch, new window motors, new carpet, etc., not to mention a really good, deep cleaning inside and out. I'm a pretty good backyard mechanic and have restored a couple of vehicles, to include a 1982 Corvette. However, I have a couple of immediate issues I need to address and could use some advice.

It sounds like the car has a small exhaust leak. You can't hear it when the car isn't under load (i.e when it's just ideling or when your give it the gas in park or neutral). However, when you accelerate while driving you can hear a ticking sound. I've had exhaust leaks before and this sound is very familiar. Also, I just drove her over 500 miles from Nevada to her new home here in Tucson AZ and she ran great -- temps around 200-220 the whole way with it being 100 plus outside, plenty of power. But you could hear this annoying ticking as you accelrated onto the interstate or from a stop. Once up to speed you couldn't noticie it. It sounds like it's coming from the left (driver side) of the engine and I'm thinking it's the exhaust manifold. Has anyone else experianced this? Any ideas where I should look for a leak?

Next, the window motor on the driver's side is shot (doesn't work at all) and the one on the passanger side is on it's way out (works very slowly if at all). I just ordered new ones from parts direct and they should be here in a few days -- any advice on replacing them. I know you have to drill out the rivets; but beyond that any short cuts or advice would be greatly appreciated.