New to the forums

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 09:29 PM
Default New to the forums

hey my name is inder and im new to the forums...and im gonna pick up a 1991 camaro probably on sunday...i was just a bit confused as to what exactly the guy had done to the car...and was looking for some explanations as to what type of performance i could expect and whether or not the car was worth the 3700 that im giving him.

he said it s a91 383 stroker with a brand new 700r4 and stage 2 shift kit. he said it had new paint new headliner and new tires and wheels. i think its a pretty sweet deal but how much power can i expect out of that engine?

the guy said the motor has only 15-20k on it...kinda of think it might be a bit too good to be true but not really sure...are there any specific problems that i should be looking out for?

don't know too much about cars, but im not a complete newbie
thanks in advance for all ur help guys!!

Old 03-03-2011, 09:43 PM
3rd Gear Member

I would expect 300 horsepower at the very least out of that motor if its a true 383.

Old 03-04-2011, 03:58 PM

would you suggest going with that or just stickin with like a 93 or 94 z28? i can get them for about the same price...

Old 03-04-2011, 04:33 PM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by jit11375
would you suggest going with that or just stickin with like a 93 or 94 z28? i can get them for about the same price...
I currently own a 3rd and 4th gen

the 89 RS is able to be driven again with its new engine and tranny.

the 95z has been on the road for a couple of years

they are completely different body styles and the 4th gen handles so much better. In fact, the 95 outcorners my 07 stang.

I like both body styles but prefer the 3rd gen. Of the 4th gens, I like the 93-97's a heck of a lot better than the fish eyes that came out in 98.