New Build

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2005, 03:12 PM
Default New Build

Sup fellas,

First of all let me just say, I'm new to the car building hobby. I know it's expensive, i know it's time consuming, I know it causes heartache and most likely hairloss. I still wanna' do it.

So here's the story. I have an 86 Z-28, with a crate 305 & a B&M 3 speed automatic. The tranny needs to be rebuilt and I have an LT1 from a 94 Roadmaster. I wanna put the LT1 in the Camaro and replace the transmission but like I said earlier, I'm a newbie. I don't really know much. Fortunately I have some friends w/car building experience but I just wanted to do some research.

Is there anything I should look out for. Anything I need to know beforehand. Any good resources for an automotive idiot. Where should I look for information. I have the 94 Roadmaster so I was wondering if there is anything from the Roadmaster I can cannibalize. Will the LT1 fit on the stock engine mounts in the 86 Camaro...

As you can see I have an *** load of questions. I appreciate all the help you guys can offer. Thanks for your time.

Old 06-19-2005, 03:40 PM
Senior Administrator
February 2012 ROTM
May 2012 ROTM
Default RE: New Build

wow..not everyday i see this.......there is alot of things you need to change to make this work, a short list would be-
1.computer
2. fuel pump and lines
3.trans
4. driveshaft
5. rear end

and basically everything else you can think of...serioiulsy

Old 06-19-2005, 08:07 PM
4th Gear Member

Actually the engine and trans is pretty much a bolt in, 3rd and 4th gens have a pretty much identical platform and since 4th gens had the LT1/4l60E combo I think it will be a fairly straight forward swap. The rear in your Camaro is most likley a 10 bolt and will be fine unless you put slicks on it. You will need the computor, a better fuel pump and maybe bigger lines. This really is not as bad of a swap as what you may think

Old 06-20-2005, 12:03 PM