Engine vs. Body

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2011, 10:04 AM
Default Engine vs. Body

Hey all -

Noob here, so take it easy on me if I'm not exactly to tech level that everyone else is...

I'm going to start work on my '84 project this weekend, and my question is if given a choice between building the motor (going to skip going to a 350, as I find it more interesting to build the existing 305) and getting the body in show condition (paint, wheels, etc), which would you choose?

If I build the motor first, then it's going to be at least another summer before I'm ready to show the car. If I get the exterior the way I want it, I can show the car, but with a wimpy 'ol stock block.

Thanks,
Craig

Old 05-24-2011, 02:32 PM
3rd Gear Member

More than likely, the body and interior will cost more than the motor. To have the car stripped down to metal, straightened, dings and dents removed, primed and painted will be at least 4K. This assumes no rot or rust that require replacing panels. A good interior with weather stripping, carpet, seat rebuild, new plasitc pieces, etc will be 1500 +. If you are rebuilding the 305 to keep it stock, then that will be cheap. But if you try the performance route, you are in for a waste of time unless you want to spend some decent cash. If you are fine with spending a lot of cash on the 305, then thats fine, but imagine what you would be able to get with that same cash on a 350....that is why most go the 350 route. Either or, my best advise is to work inside to out. I would hate to have a great paint job or interior and mess it up doing any motor work or trans work. Its just too easy to drop a wrench or have some thing hit a fender or door while working on the motor.

Lastly, if you are going to show the car would you want the hood upen on a grungy 27 year old motor?

Old 05-24-2011, 03:05 PM

Your last thought was the one that kept me debating - to have a great looking car at a show, only to open the hood to view a sad-looking 305.