engine/ trans swap..what about......

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2007, 06:39 PM
Default engine/ trans swap..what about......

hello all, please forgive me if i ask a real dumb question.........ive had a few older cars, cadillacs chevelles etc, and although im not a pro mechanic, ive spent many a day under my own car but this is my first camaro....bought an 86, very nice clean ex drag car that had a small block with a 700 r4 now blown up. ive got a real nice 454 with a 400 turbo on it that id really love to massage into this car, but wondering if i can get away with it. the long torque arm, for lack of a better name for it that runs from the back of the trans to the rear end. parrallel to the driveshaft, if the 400 turbo has no provision for the arm, is there a way to adapt this brace/member to the 400 turbo? thanks! john in ohio

Old 05-24-2007, 09:30 PM
Overdrive Member
Default RE: engine/ trans swap..what about......

People in this forum have swapped thier trannys but no mention of how they mounted the torque arm (it is the proper name). Where there is a will there is a way. Maybe you need to find a guy named Will to do it. [8D]
Do take pics and show us your 454 though.

Old 05-25-2007, 01:36 AM
2nd Gear member

I seen a torque arm relocation bracket for the 4 gens. The bracket basically moves the mounting off of the trans extension tail housing and puts the stress on to the subframe rails. You might try a search fora relocation bracket for the 3rd gen camaros.
http://www.hawksthirdgenparts.com/in...amp;ProdID=871

Old 05-25-2007, 09:11 AM
In the Staging Lanes

Thats a good question i did not know there was no location for the torque arm on a turbo 400 tranny which coincidentally i am putting in my 3rd gen. My difference is I am using a v6 3rd gen. Doyou or anyone know if there is a torque arm on the v6 tranny. Its a 91 rs. Thanks

Old 05-25-2007, 11:52 AM
Overdrive Member