Camaro rookie

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2010, 11:43 PM
Default Camaro rookie

Hey all, thanks for letting me join. Just picked up my first camaro a few days ago and still have about 2k to spend on her. She's bone stock and in great shape but would like to get her up around 350-400 hp.
Any suggestions on first thing mods?
I'm new to the camaro world but not the go fast world. Any suggestions for a camaro rookie?
92' Z28 5.7 with auto trans.

Old 11-04-2010, 06:36 AM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by Tangerinez
Hey all, thanks for letting me join. Just picked up my first camaro a few days ago and still have about 2k to spend on her. She's bone stock and in great shape but would like to get her up around 350-400 hp.
Any suggestions on first thing mods?
I'm new to the camaro world but not the go fast world. Any suggestions for a camaro rookie?
92' Z28 5.7 with auto trans.
Well, since you aren't new to the "go fast world" you would expect a few questions. Also, you would expect the same answers be it GM, mopar or ford heads/cam/ headers/ free flow exhaust/ injectors/tune.

The questions:

how many miles on the tranny? If it's low, then you might be OK. If it's high, then expect to say buh bye to the tranny once you put that much more torque to it.

How are the bushings underneath? Are they rotted?

If high miles on the engine, do you have the cash reserves to also take care of the bottom end? Why invest in top end work if the bottom end needs attention?

Is that 350-400HP flywheel HP or rear wheel HP?

Old 11-04-2010, 10:22 AM

The car has 122k. Original trans and from the looks of it, just about everything else is too. Motor mounts look good as well as the suspension mounts. Compression is good across the board and as far as I can tell the bottom end is alright but it's a little hard to check that completely.