'80 z28 restore

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2013, 06:59 PM
Default '80 z28 restore

I just got my 1980 z28 with a 396 big block a few days ago and I'm starting to restore it. I'm a newbie when it comes to restoring cars so it's kind of a learn as you go type experience and I'm sure I'll have a lottt of questions so any help would be much appreciated. Luckily it doesn't really have any major problems, mostly cosmetic stuff. So far I have a page long list of things I'd like to get done, the problem now is figuring out where to start!
I just ordered some new window felts and weather stripping since the ones in there were cracked and had gaps. Now I just have to figure out how to remove the door panels without damaging anything. I've read a few posts about how to do it, but most of the ones I saw were later generations, is it basically the same thing with a 1980?

Another thing at the top of my list is that my locks don't work, so I'm trying to get that done pretty soon too. Any ideas as to why it won't lock? The driver side power lock doesn't make a sound when I try to lock it but the passenger side sounds like it's trying to lock but doesn't actually do anything. Even when I've tried pushing the lock stems down, nothing happens.

Any input would be great!

Old 06-18-2013, 08:43 PM

I was just putting in my window felts and it seems like they don't fit.. the outside one is pushing the window too far in so the door doesn't close.. Maybe they sent me the wrong part, or am I just doing it wrong?

Old 06-19-2013, 09:54 AM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Hard to say without seeing pics. There are two type of felts, and you didn't mention which you got? The ones with a metal edge that goes over the door edge are for cars without chrome trim on the door top, and the ones without a metal edge are for cars with the chrome door trim.