Value of Mint 79 Z28

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2008, 06:41 PM
Default Value of Mint 79 Z28

Well everyone, my Dad is finally putting up his baby for sale. It is his 1979 camaro z28, 75k miles, original owner, perfect white paint with orange/red decals. Fully restored interior, 350 V8, auto, American racing wheels, tons of stuff. He is tight on cash and is wanting to sell it. I am going to list it for him since he is not the most technically advanced person, but I am new to the 2g market. Anyone have a high-low range for this cars worth. I can get pics if you that would help. I also would be willing to pay $100 to anyone that finds a buyer with a good deal. Thanks,

Adam

Old 03-30-2008, 06:58 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: Value of Mint 79 Z28

If it helps any, I just paid $5000 for a 1980 Z28 in very good condition. It has 69k on the clock and is 100% orignal. It has the 350, auto, power windows, air, T-tops, cruse, tilt. The body and frame are rust free, and everything is solid on the car.

Old 03-30-2008, 09:29 PM
3rd Gear Member

Where is the vehicle located at? Pics would be helpful.

Old 03-30-2008, 11:01 PM
3rd Gear Member

"mint" is a very subjective word. I have seen people say a car is mint, and then upon finally seeing them, I would call them "very nice" at best.

if the car is truly mint, they seem to be asking, and getting (because that's the important part), around $10,000 - $12,000 all day long. would I pay it? no, but a lot of people do because that's what the market will hold and I think that's fair.

I've been watching the market trend downward lately, on lower end cars now because of the economy. the higher end cars (1st gen type stuff) are still holding and even climbing in most casesbecause usually the people that buy the nicer end of those cars just pay cash, and only drive them a couple of times a month anyway, so they aren't the type of people that are hurting for money.

good luck with the sale

Old 03-31-2008, 11:26 AM