Starting my 76 restoration project for - ideas welcome

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 06:57 PM
Default Starting my 76 restoration project for - ideas welcome

Hello everyone. I own a 76 Type LT (owned since 1993) with a 350 SB and 350 TH. Right now I am starting to get my restoration project mapped out. Although it is a fairly solid vehicle, I am replacing pretty much everything on it. So I am trying to get "macro" ideas about how to approach my restoration. I have slowly been aquiring parts over the years and have ~75% of all the interior & body parts I need (engine and other mechanical parts are another story but easy to get). All remaining parts are also easy to get so I am waiting until I need them to actually buy them. I have a master plan in my head but wanted to get some feedback from those who have done this before.

My gut feeling is to start working on some of the mechanical issues (which I can do) before I do any paint & body work. Specifically, I am thinking I could do the supension, steering, brakes, brake lines, rear end, etc and get that out of the way. Basically anything that would not need to be pulled when the P&B work gets done. Any thoughts? I suppose I could include electrical work in this stage as well, yes? (not including ignition or other engine electrical)

I will obviously need to research and pick a P&B shop. I am thinking Q1 2009 is when it will go in (long time away but good shops book fast). This explains why I am wanting to do some work ahead of time so I can go ahead and get the ball rolling.

Last will be the interior, which will be a fairly simple task since I have taken the interior apart a few times before