The RustBucket is truly rusted out

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2010, 07:47 PM
Default The RustBucket is truly rusted out

Ok well I started to pull the T-tops, front windshield, weather stripping, headliner and all of those goodies out of the car. I was assuming that since the trunk, dash, firewall, subframe and all of that were pretty much rust free that only the floorpans were rusted. Apparently not. My spidey since didnt tingle enough to realize that the whole top half of the car is pretty much rotted!!! I don't know what to do here?? Should I just junk the car and keep what I can salvage? The roof is not too terrible but there are a few spots that are rotted out and I am no expert welder. The part that I am worried about the most is the b-pillar on the drivers door and the drivers side t-top frame. I got a good subframe, a good rear end, a 350 motor and th350 tranny and it only cost 600 dollars. Should I scrap the rest of the car and call it a day?

Old 07-06-2010, 08:51 PM
July 2010 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

do not scrap at all..... plz lol. i cant stand to see even the crapiest camaro go to scrap. seriously someone can use it if you can't. i would keep it all, maybe just find another shell but deff. don't scrap it. even though i have 4 already i would take it off your hands if you werent up to repairing it (if you were close to me) lol. if the quarter panels are good just find a new roof? i also have a couple complete roofs (again if you are close to me id hook you up).

i say keep it, try and get some pics posted, and i'll tell ya for sure but odds are i will still say keep it lol.

Old 07-06-2010, 09:15 PM
Overdrive Member

Toss up some pics. Lets take a look. Better yet take alot of pics and give us the photobucket link. I have a rust bucket too. If your car has good rails fix the rest. I don't think this is the case from your tone though. Its worth a look.