New 76 camaro project. Info and tranny issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 01:25 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default New 76 camaro project. Info and tranny issues

Hi I'm new to this section of the forum. Ive owned a 95 z28 since I was 17 and last week I found a 76 camaro for $500 at a tow yard and I couldn't resist. Car didn't come with keys and it's in....let's just say it needs love. But it's not hopeless gives me something to do until I go to Afgahnistan anyways. I stripped out the interior, replaced the ignition and rebuild the steering column and managed to get her to fire up and then even stay running! Took some coercing though. But my question is this: it's an inline 6. I've never worked with a carbeurated engine before and no one seems to give a damn about 6 cylinders. Is there anywhere I can get exploded diagrams, repair manuals for the 4.1 liter or anything of the like? Its almost drivable but the damn thing won't shift. It's an automatic, will start in any gear and no power goes to the wheels. Im checking the linkage and safety switch tomorrow. But besides that anyone have any tips? Semper fi

Old 03-03-2011, 06:37 AM
In the Staging Lanes

You might be able to order a manual from a local auto parts store. They are nice to have when you just can't find the info you seek on-line.

Its almost drivable but the damn thing won't shift. It's an automatic, will start in any gear and no power goes to the wheels.
Kinda confused... Does the car not have any forward or reverse gears?

Old 03-03-2011, 07:55 AM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Sounds like it's very low on fluid at the least, or maybe bad clutches. Hvae you checked the fluid levels yet? Start the engine and let it warm up, then with the tranny in neutral check the fluid level. It may have a bad seal or two, and leaking fluid, so might be low.
I see TH350's on CL all the time cheap.

Old 03-03-2011, 10:38 AM
Senior Moderator