Inherited 70' RS V6, Need some help...

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 06:59 PM
Default Inherited 70' RS V6, Need some help...

Hello,

I have just inherited a 1970 RS V6 in puke brown. It it all original and has been sitting in my parents garage for over 20 years. From their recollection, the transmission is bad (auto) and the valves were ticking heavily.

I have been looking on the internet for several weeks looking for information on 1) how i should go about storing the car properly. and 2) trying to figure out what engine/trans combination could be had for cheap that would be a true bolt in affair.

I have had some experience with other foreign made cars. But those swaps usually require all kinds extras. I am trying to find out not only what would be easiest to do, but what would be smart to do.

Of corse, I didn't plan on inheriting this car, so i have no budget for a restore. I would either continue to store it (properly) or may consider throwing a few hundred dollars at an engine/trans that would bolt-in.

So, the reason for my post, i have been googling for weeks and get all kinds of information, but none that really answer my questions or address how to re-store car that has not been stored properly.

If anyone would be so kind as to point me in the right direction with some links, i would be grateful.

Oh, and I don't want to sell it. It was my mother first car she got on her birthday. I am pissed she was not born a year earlier!

Thanks,

Old 10-10-2010, 07:31 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome to the forum.
If I were in your shoes, I'd look for a 350/th 350 used and ready to drop in. That would just about bolt in, there'd be a couple of mods, but it would definitely give you the most bang for your buck.