Help Get Air Out Of Brakes!

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 07:17 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Help Get Air Out Of Brakes!

I've been working on my '79 for about 2 years now and have always had a problem with the break pedal being "spongy" with the engine running. With the motor off it starts spongy, but as I pump the pedal it stiffens up.

When I press on the pedal in the driver seat I always hear air blowing from around the rod that connects to the back of the power booster.

It became so hard to get the car to stop I decided to replace all the components in the brake system except the proportioning valve.

I ran all new brake lines and hoses to the front and rear.
I put a new power booster and master cylinder on (after bench bleeding).

Now I just got finished, bled the brakes and it still is the same! No evidence of leaking and I still hear that damn air sound.

Can someone please shed some light on this for me, it's driving me crazy!

Thanks

Old 01-02-2012, 08:03 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Well if you're hearing the "air sound" I'd wonder if your booster has the rubber boot on it to seal it around the rod and firewall?
When you say everything, did you replace/rebuild caliper pistons and wheel cylinders? Might also need to power bleed the system or vacuum bleed the system.

Old 01-02-2012, 08:35 PM
In the Staging Lanes

The power booster/master cylinder came with a new rubber seal and I installed it like the old one was. I'll attach some pictures of the rod to firewall area where the noise is coming from.

Would a leak in this location effect the brakes that severely?

I didn't change out the calipers/rods.. only new pads, bearings, rotors, etc.

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails Help Get Air Out Of Brakes!-2012-01-02-20.22.58.jpg   Help Get Air Out Of Brakes!-2012-01-02-20.23.21.jpg  
Old 01-02-2012, 11:41 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner