Front suspension revamp assistance!

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 06:20 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Question Front suspension revamp assistance!

So, i am having my UCA and LCAs along with my subframe blasted and powdercoated, but i want to replace all the body mount and control arm bushing. I was thinking of going to Global West Suspension of Energy Suspension for all the red polyurethane bushings, but i have read in other places that they can squeak over time, and that the black are impregnated with graphite and don't speak. Is this true? Which would be better for a street application? I also thought about the Del-A-Lum bushings they offer, but havent really heard much about those. Then what about the shafts, keep stock ones, buy new ones, and would the offset shafts be a good investment? Does the offset shaft offer enough addition camber adjustment to justify having/needing them? Just need your input guys, this is my first build so I'm learning as i go. I also plan to use the Energy Suspension insert for the frame mounts as well, if they are any good. Thanks.

TJ

Global West Suspension - American Muscle Car Parts

http://energysuspension.com/index.htm

Old 01-11-2012, 10:06 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Heard the same stories about polyurethane bushings squeaking, but not any specific color. I just liked the black better because they were more stock appearing, and didn't jump out under there.
I went Energy Suspension Sytem and got the complete kit. I also bbought an extra 8oz. cup of suspension grease, as I really put it on thick everywhere. The real point where squeaks occur is the pivot points on upper and lower control arms. ESS was very reasonably priced at Summit, and has a good reputation too. I thoroughly covered the ends of the bushings before installing the washers and nuts on UCA, then on the LCA I greased up the bushings, and also the inside of the frame where the bushings attach.