Camaro noob, school me.

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Default Camaro noob, school me.

Hey guys, I'm new to the scene of the 2nd gen Camaro. I'm starting a project that my dad has been putting off for ages, it's a 1976 Camaro. It has the 305 and 4 speed manual transmission. Mods are (to the best of my knowledge) Holley 4 barrel carb, Edelbrock intake, valve covers are not stock, not sure of the heads. It doeshave a cam.It has a full exhaust, I think the mufflers are flows. Also not sure, I think it has gears but I've not had a chance to jack it up and check. It is a posi rear. Anyways, my main questions are-

What are the common problems on these cars?

What kind of transmission do I have, and roughly how much power will it hold?

What's the best place to find a nice engine for it? Or should I just stick with the 305 and build that up... I'm really leaning toward a built 383 with either some juice or just high compression. I'd like to get 400ish wheel out of it.

I've heard that GM rear ends are crap. True?

Any other information you feel is pertinant would be great. I'm still cruising the site and reading up, I'd like to learn as much about this car as possible before I really dig in. Today, I pulled it out of the garage, under it's own power. An hour later, I came back and it wouldn't start. Took the carb off, cleaned all the 25 year old gunk out of it, and put it back on, still won't start. (I'm kind of a carb noob too). The only thing I really messed with is the idle speed, because when I pulled it out the first time it was running really rough and was close to stalling. I turned it up a bit. Any quick fix for that?

Thanks guys. Pics up.

Name:  P1000579.jpg
Views: 36
Size:  55.2 KB

Name:  P1000580.jpg
Views: 25
Size:  45.8 KB

Clickhere for more detailed pics.

Old 04-08-2008, 07:35 AM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: Camaro noob, school me.