attention all 2nd gen owners noob here

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 01:04 AM
Default attention all 2nd gen owners noob here

hey guys i have a question i really need answered. i am in need of a sweet camaro but i have some concerns. i am interested in the 79, 80, and 81 years.

I have a few questions.

-What is your MPG (i really need to know).

-Would you recommend a late 2nd gen camaro. Yes or no and why?

-Does your car still a strong driver considering its 30 years old?

-Is it your daily driver?

thank you very much for answering my questions, I am new here and any advice is very much appreciated.

Old 10-21-2008, 04:15 AM
2nd Gear member
Default RE: attention all 2nd gen owners noob here

13 city 20 highway give or take,yes very,yes it is as long as you take care of it,yes it is i deliver pizzas in it every day. but i will tell you right now do not buy a old car if you want gas milage,you buy a camaro to look cool and to haul ***. not to save gas.

Old 10-21-2008, 10:00 PM
3rd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: rideyourbike

hey guys i have a question i really need answered. i am in need of a sweet camaro but i have some concerns. i am interested in the 79, 80, and 81 years.

I have a few questions.

-What is your MPG (i really need to know).
Well, you can "make" the car get decent gas mileage but be prepared to drop a lot of money and time into if you want to do it. Tranny with OD, tweaking the engine and rebuilding it with great parts geared towards efficiency, etc. Changing out the gears in the rear end for highway efficiency but at the cost of low end torque and hard launches. A lot of people are dropping LS engines in them with modern OD transmissions with good results.

-Would you recommend a late 2nd gen camaro. Yes or no and why?
I would recommend almost any camaro. I personally prefer the 1st gen, 2nd gen and 4th gen with the round headlights. The 3rd gens are pretty nice too when done right.