1977 camaro freeze plug question

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2008, 10:07 PM
Default 1977 camaro freeze plug question

Hello guys, I have a couple of questions i was looking for a camaro and I found a 77 that bone stock and had only one owner for $500(Is that a good deal?). So I was wanting to get this car but the seller told me that it has a freeze plug rusted out. well my question was how hard is it to do on this car? would i have to take the motor out of the car to do because i had some people tell me that you have to and some tell me that you dont. And would i have to replace the other ones? If so how many others are there? Im also pretty new to domestic cars, only having worked on hondas, but have been wanting to get away from them and into chevys for a long time. Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks,
Andrew

Old 02-04-2008, 11:50 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner
Default RE: 1977 camaro freeze plug question

$500 isn't a bad deal, as long as it isn't a real hulk.
There are two casting (freeze) plugs on each side. How hard it is to replace depends on which one is bad. Each side has one in the clear, and one underneath the motor mount, so the mount would need to be removed and the engine supported to access it if that's the leaker. Just because one is bad, doesn't mean they all are, but the others could be going bad. You would have to get under there and look. A heavily gunked up engine actually helps to prevent the plugs from rusting, so it depends. And you don't need to take the engine out to replace them either. If access is too tight for installinga conventional steel plug, the expandable type plugs actually work pretty well.

Old 02-05-2008, 12:18 AM