1976 Camaro body rot

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2021, 11:56 AM
Default 1976 Camaro body rot

Hello All,

Newbie here, and I have a 1976 Camaro with some fairly extensive body rot but has a really nice engine and a TH350 trans.. Do I try to do rust repair or find another car to drop the motor and trans into?

Snoopy

Old 09-19-2021, 12:35 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

That depends a lot on you and the rest of the car. To me what you pictured is not bad to fix because it is mostly comedic but I have the equipment and know how to do it. I assume you are missing one of the two or both or you would not be asking. What is your goals? Are just just trying to get a classic car for cheap ? Depending on where you are it may be best to keep looking. In the Northern US cars in much better shape then this can be pricey but in Texas or Arizona this car would would be scrap.

How is the cars underneath? Its common on these cars to have the doors sag and windows to leak water and they will rust out the floors. There is a panel the runs across the back of the car under the rear bumper that is structural on these cars. It was common to see those rust out back in the 80's. Keep in mind this is a unibody cars so the floor and rocker panels are part of the structure so repairs should be solid and as strong or stronger then new. Also rust around windows can be a pain to fix if it has any and it tends to be a lot worst then it appears.

Old 09-19-2021, 03:01 PM

Originally Posted by Gorn