Restoration Price

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2007, 04:36 PM
Default Restoration Price

I'm very new to cars and restorations. I am very interested in restoring a Camaro, but my father is worried about the cost of a restoration.
I know this is very general and imprecise, but about how much would a Camaro project car cost? I'm looking for a 67, 68, 69 that has an engine and transmission, basically. With those very general guidelines, how much do you think a project would cost?
Also, considering the car does have an engine and transmission, about how much would a restoration cost.
Again, I am very sorry that I am being so general, but I'm new to all of this and would like to know a ball park estimate.

Thanks

Old 08-17-2007, 08:36 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Restoration Price

There are too many factors to even guess on the price of a restoration. Depends on the condition of the car and all of it's individual components. Also, it varies based on how extensive of a restoration that you are willing to do. In general, it will be cheaper to buy one that is already done. But again, that depends on what you and the seller consider a "restored" car is.

Old 08-18-2007, 06:26 AM
June 2007 ROTM

ditto!

Old 08-19-2007, 06:41 PM
1st Gear Member

I'll throw some ball park figures out there and you either accept it or come up with your own.

Let's say the shell is in decent shape, body rot and rust around the front fenders doors and quarters. Maybe the trunk needs new metal and so does the floor boards.
• Sheet metal can be estimated buy picking up a Camaro supplier. If you can weld and do body work you will save a ton of cash there.

• Suspension is expensive if you want to upgrade, so you might want to just replace worn or broken components. This could be anywhere between $200 - $1500.

• Paint is expensive these days just to buy the supplies. A painter will cost you hundreds if not thousands to get it sprayed.