Rear quaters

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2007, 02:09 PM
Default Rear quaters

I was reading the post about how people thought it was a slow forum..... So I have a simple question. You guys can post all the responses you would like!!!

I have a 69 that I am restoring. I am new to the car deal but really want to do it myself. I am 28 years old and have wanted a car like the one I bought since I was 14. I know the quick answer to this will be have a body man do it but I want to get the know how.

I have already bought the rear quarters and am about to cut out the old ones. What should I expect to find behind them that will also need to be replace. I know this is a broad statement but if you could give me examples of theor nightmares that are hidden behind the quarters that would be great! Also the trunk pan is mint so there is no problem there. This was a Texas car born and raised. Thank god ot was not a minnesota car born and raised otherwise I would have bought myself a cowl tag and that would have been about it, on a nice minnesota car maybe a steering wheel also!

Old 05-17-2007, 02:47 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Rear quaters

Ya, your right. Pretty broad question but what the hell

What to expect. Expect the worst, that way everything you find will make you feel better. Rust in the front lower region. Crash damage that was poorly fixed. Bad rear frame rails you finally notice. Inner fenders that are rusted. The fenders you got are "tweaked" and will need some help to fit correctly. A rear tail section that is off it's keester.

But I commend you for wanting to do it yourself. Nothing wrong with that. My quick advice? Sit down, figure out how much your going to spend restoring your car. Everything, price it all out. When you come to a final figure. Multiply that figure by three. That is a realistic number.