Original 6 cyl or go with Big Block??

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2013, 11:18 AM
Default Original 6 cyl or go with Big Block??

Can't seam to get a grip on the best way to proceed. I found a base 67 Camaro RS with a straighty 6 cyl. in pretty decent shape. I've completely disassembled and taken down to metal, engine and trany pulled. In the process I never thought much about it but ran the numbers and this car has all matching numbers for a RS with the original 6 cyl and 4 speed manual transmission (floor shifter). Found out that this was pretty rare. So my dilemma is do I go with my initial plan of V8, 4 speed, and 12 bolt or does the rarity of this original car make it worth more than the usual 6 cyl with powerglides?

I've been out of the car scene for a while and this is my first build in 15 years so any input is appreciatted.

I see topics all the time questioning original 6cyl conversion to V8 and the general consensus seems to be up to what the owner preferred and if this was a regular original 6cyl I wouldnt hesitate, especially since I already have a big block available, but the RS and 4 speed has me second guessing.

Old 12-14-2013, 12:26 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Moved your thread to where it belongs, in the 1st gen section.
It depends on what you're after. Do you want a performance car, not worrying as much about originality, or want an unmolested top dollar (for what your model could bring) car? Honestly, an all original 6 cylinder car has a certain neatness about it. When was the last time you saw one at a show or cruise night? Sure, it's no hot rod, but again, that depends on what you expect to get out of the car. Another option is to build up your V8 car, and put the 6 banger in safe storage. As a buyer, I would want the original engine, just because you never know how much of a future difference in value having it might make.

Old 12-14-2013, 01:53 PM
In the Staging Lanes