needing starter solenoid advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2024, 10:58 AM
Default needing starter solenoid advice

Hello, I'm a newbie. Used to have a couple '69's many years ago (foolishly got rid of them). Now that it's just me and the wife at home, I started building a '68 base car. Took every bolt out, off the frame and started from scratch. The car is going to have power 4 wheel disc, ford 9" with a 3.70 posi, 383 Stroker with tunnel ram & 2x4bbls being built now at Smeding Performance, B&M 350 tranny, power steering, tilt column, power windows, A/C. Now on to my question. I have relocated battery to the trunk with a disconnect switch. I ran 1 ground from battery to frame, going to also go from engine to frame. I have run 01 welding cable to the firewall. Should I go straight to the starter with the posi cable or go to a remote solenoid, then down to the starter? Any advice/tips/pros & cons would be greatly appreciated.

And if I have posted this in the wrong section, please forgive me.

I am also looking for a tunnel ram intake for my sbc. Please let me know if you know of one at a decent price.

Mike from Tennessee

Old 01-20-2024, 11:45 AM
4th Gear Member

I'd probably go straight to the starter,seems like remote solenoids are just one more part to fail.
I assume you'll have headers so a starter heat shield to protect your starter and solenoid would be a good idea.

Old 01-20-2024, 11:48 AM

Ok, ty sir. I had just heard somewhere about using a remote, then the main posi cable from the battery (that runs thru the interior) would not be hot all the time, only when I am starting the car. Which to me, seems like it still would be.

Old 01-21-2024, 05:25 AM
1st Gear Member

For antitheft it is nice to have a hidden solenoid somewhere to kill the power
Most people know so little about cars it would take them quite a while to steal it without a tow truck
I would go directly to the starter with two wires
I would run a 1 gauge ground wire to the starter too