Is this a decent deal?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2010, 03:31 PM
Default Is this a decent deal?

Hi everyone!

I have been drooling over gen 1 camaros for as long as I can remember and every spring I get the itch to finally buy one of my own. I am still young (24) and just starting out in the married/career life with a new home as well so really the only thing holding me back is money... whats new right? I was just browsing some local ads and came across this:

1969 CAMARO SS...........DAMAGED
ALL NUMBERS MATCHING X-11 ....4 SPEED ,12 BOLT, DISC BRAKES,AIR,DELUXE HOUNDSTOOTH INTERIOR,ROSEWOOD DASH,TAC AND GAUGES.
TRUE SS CAR......HAVE ALL PARTS FOR REPAIR.........RUNS AND DRIVES , NEW MEXICO CAR

That is the extend of the ad, and I haven't contacted him at all.

I guess my question is how much work with the very limited amount of information you have been presented would need to go into this to get it looking presentable? I am by no means a mechanic, but I am not afraid to try darn near anything.

This is all most likely wishful thinking, but I just need to be either encouraged or brought down to earth in my thinking

Thanks guys, hopefully someday I will be able to have some input on these boards from experience!

Old 04-14-2010, 03:53 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Is it a decent deal? Don't know, you didn't say how much. If you do go look at it, make sure the partial VIN on the engine does indeed match the body. X11 on the trim tag does not make it an SS. And anything, as far as options, can be changed or added.
http://www.chevy-camaro.com/faq/chev...ro-faq-SS.shtm

Old 04-14-2010, 03:54 PM

It is also worth noting that I have some friends that are car savvy and have owned/worked on cars like this for a long time. My time frame for restortation is pretty wide open too, I am not looking to have this running around town in a month, I plan on owning this for the forseeable future. Hand it down to the kids someday when gas is extinct