67 sometimes doesnt start.

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2020, 06:51 AM
Default 67 sometimes doesnt start.

I'm a newbie to the forum so please bare with me. I recently acquired a 67 rs 396 when my dad passed away. The car runs ...most of the time. Based on info I can get from my mother there were times the car wouldn't start. My dad carried around a piece of jumper wire with alligator clips in the car. She states that sometimes (both when the car was hot and cold) that it wouldnt start. He would hop out and connect the jumper wire, hop back in, turn the key...and vroom.
I'm looking for ideas on what he was doing, and ultimately how I can diagnose and fix the problem. I have not had a chance to really get under the hood. I do know that there is a msd blaster 2 coil, and something has been done with the alternator but I dont know what yet. I dont know ok w if its hei, mad, maybe pertronix, I'm hoping to get over there today and get a look. Any ideas would be appreciated.

p.s. I'm pretty mechanical and have most tools needed to get the work done, but I am not a true "car guy".

brian

Old 06-03-2020, 09:20 AM
1st Gear Member

determine if its a HEI or Pertronix kit dizzy
confirm the wire attached to coil +,(there would be a yellow and white one) if it is a HEI type dizzy that the white wire is not the resistance type but has been replaced with standard copper wire. Most just run a new wire from IGN tab on fuse block and tape the stock resistance wire back into the harness

If your Dad converted to single wire alt maybe he was jumping from alt + post to coil +...just a guess.

Old 06-03-2020, 09:22 AM
4th Gear Member

Welcome, Brian, to the club.
Sorry in reading of Father passing away.
Onto your new toy - since she has an external ign coil, it's not GM's HEI.
Next you should pull dist cap and see if a point set is in place, and if it is, reset gap, 0.019". If Petronix, you're good to go.
Ensure yellow wire from solenoid is hooked into coil harness.