67 RS in too deep?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2009, 08:55 AM
Default 67 RS in too deep?

Hi everyone I'm new to this

I have had my 67 RS rag top for the past 10 years and had body & paint done (lousy jobs) by two different body shops.
At the same time the 327 was redone with mild cam and 202 heads.It then went into storage and other than starting it up once in a while it has less than 2K miles put on it since. Two years ago I decided it was time for a rebirth and did a major tear down.Not something that needed to be done just seemed like a good idea at the time.
I after much soul searching I purchased all new body panels,doors,floors,trunk ,top and interior(not much left of the old gal) I injured my back shortly after and this project may never be finished. I have managed to putter and have run into a problem that is nagging me.
How to weld the lower section of the rear quarterpanels to the tail panel there is no way I can see to attach without welding down the seam and after spending all this money on new sheet metal I don't want to compromise.
Any suggestion, other than shelving this or dumping it on the next owner.
Camaro in a box anyone?

Bill

Old 04-10-2009, 05:12 PM
In the Staging Lanes

Well, i haven't had any actual experience welding in new quarters (but am I-Car certified to do it). If you get enough penetration you should be able to grind it down still be good. I did weld in a new piece to an old 40's Ford and did that, welded it up like that and grinded it down and it worked fine.

Old 04-10-2009, 10:42 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

First off no one can explain how to reattach a quarter pannel correctly in a post. I have seen post 15 plus pages long just talking about which welder to use and the right settings.