67 cam with 396 BB running as high as 230-240

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2019, 07:30 PM
Default 67 cam with 396 BB running as high as 230-240

I’m a rookie at this as this is my first classic car, question; Will using high octane gas cause my older engine to run hotter than normal? I have aluminum radiator and dual fans but my engine runs hot.

Old 07-06-2019, 08:12 PM
4th Gear Member

Short answer, no. Double check the gauge is accurate. 230 is pretty hot. Not that it matters, is this at idle or cruise?

Old 07-06-2019, 08:16 PM

This was cruising on highway (55-60) for about 40 mins after picking it up from mechanic. What do you mean “doesn’t matter”? Is that really not that hot?

Old 07-06-2019, 09:17 PM
4th Gear Member

This comes up fairly often,big blocks make a lot of heat,a radiator with electric fans usually doesn't keep up because they just don't draw enough air.
A standard stock type 6 blade fan with a fan clutch and a full shroud usually takes care of the problem.

Old 07-06-2019, 09:24 PM

Originally Posted by Y2Keglide
This comes up fairly often,big blocks make a lot of heat,a radiator with electric fans usually doesn't keep up because they just don't draw enough air.
A standard stock type 6 blade fan with a fan clutch and a full shroud usually takes care of the problem.
Thank you very much, until I look into getting that: at what point should I be concerned and stop running the engine?

Old 07-07-2019, 10:49 AM
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by John Devito
Thank you very much, until I look into getting that: at what point should I be concerned and stop running the engine?
I'm no expert but I'd say you are running border line already.