Troubleshooting Hideaway Headlights 69 RS

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2015, 03:05 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Troubleshooting Hideaway Headlights 69 RS

So as I posted recently I just purchased my long lost love, a 69 RS.
I bought the car knowing full well the plumbing was there for the hidden light covers but the former owner told me they were not working.

So deciding this was the first thing I was going to tackle, immediate I found a major part of the problem. The vacuum line running out of the carb and around the back of the engine was completely disconnected. Had a bolt in the end of the line. I hooked that back up, tuned on the headlights and the doors opened! Considering Im not a engineering genius I considered that a major victory.
Tuned the lights back off and the doors won't close under vacuum. I manually pushed the doors shut and then tried the same from the vacuum relay. Same result, they will open but not close.

It seems like the doors open and close smoothly. No binding. Just under pressure when I try to close them.

Any suggestions as where to look next?

Should I vacuum test each line individually or could it be the acutators?

Old 07-13-2015, 03:44 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

Are the vacuum relays there too, or did someone "hotwire" the vacuum directly into the actuators? If relays are still hooked up, switch the two hoses going to the headlight doors. Now open would be closed and closed would be open. If the doors now close but won't open, the relays are bad.

Old 07-13-2015, 03:54 PM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

I should have said only one relay, not relays. I'm used to my 69 Vette, which has two. Here's a vacuum diagram and troubleshooting directions: Technical Reference Series II #001

Old 07-13-2015, 04:56 PM
In the Staging Lanes

My vacuum relay is there. I can toggle the plunger and get them to open.