New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Hey im New :) <--------------

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 06:46 PM
Default Hey im New :) <--------------

Hey guys, im new to the Camaro Forums!

Place looks nice, and i've read a little bit of everything.

so yea, HI EVERYONE

btw, I want to buy a camaro, but my dad says most if not all american cars get de-valorized right when you buy them.. he says that a year later when you want to do a trade-in, or sell it, the car is less than half of what you bought it for and you will have lost most of the money you put on it, for which I should not get into american cars/camaro. What you guys think, is that true?

Old 02-23-2010, 06:57 PM
Third Generation Moderator
March 2010 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

If monetary value is a concern to you, a car is definitely the wrong thing to invest in. Depreciation is going to affect every car on the market, American or not. (Anyone want a Toyota? Didn't think so~)

Any new car is going to lose quite a bit of value the first time you drive it off the lot. That said I don't understand why you'd want to sell a new car a year after you bought it?

But, you can skip over the initial depreciation by buying a car that's a year or two old. If you let someone else put that first couple thousand miles on it for you, it'll still be just as good as having bought it new, but you'll easily save thousands on the purchase price.

Old 02-23-2010, 07:06 PM

hmm, i like that 3rd statement you said, and the "trade in after a year" was just to show the point.. i dont think anyone would really trade after 1 year.

I agree with you on toyotas, but come on.. you picked the worst company lol

Say honda, their cars dont get de-valorized fast.. but then again i want a camaro lol

Old 02-23-2010, 07:48 PM
Third Generation Moderator
March 2010 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

If you want a Camaro, buy a Camaro. Depreciation only matters if you want to get rid of it.

Which you never will, right?