New Members Area New to Camaro Forums? Start here!

Restoration Nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2019, 12:25 AM
Default Restoration Nightmare

My one owner 1971 Camaro went in for a total restoration July 1, 2016. At this point, I am fed up with the repair shop & want to pick it up & find a reputable place to finish it. The body parts have been painted, but no motor or transmission or interior. My question is how do I go about getting my car & all the scattered parts? Will I need to hire a lawyer to get my retainer $$ back? The shop owner continues to say “next month”. He’s been saying that for 2 years!! I would like to hear from someone who knows, or who has been through something like this. Also, I need recommendations about where to take it to be finished! This car was my 16th birthday present from my dad...

Old 04-11-2019, 03:10 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

I have not been through this as I am a former mechanic, like most people on this site I am a DIY guy but I may be able to help.

Right now your car is under a mechanics lien. It will take a court to break that. You would need to prove that the amount of work that has been completed has less value then your retainer. On most camaro restorations the body and paint is the costly time consuming part of the job but that will depend on the condition of the car before you brought it in. If the body and suspension work are done and all the parts are ready to assemble there is only about 100 hour of professional work left to go.