General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Manufacturer Controlled Transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2007 | 06:27 PM
|
Default Manufacturer Controlled Transmission?

Hello everyone..I'm a noob, just bought my 99 Camaro the other night and now my service engine light has come on. I took it to Auto Zone for them to tell me what it said, and all that came up was " Manufacturer Controlled Transmission" and they couldnt tell me any more than that. I was wonderign if someone might know what that is supposed to mean? Thanks in advance..

Old 06-23-2007 | 06:54 PM
Tech Droid
Default RE: Manufacturer Controlled Transmission?

What was the trouble code number?

Old 06-23-2007 | 11:20 PM
|

I don't know what it was. He said that was all the information he could give me. I didn't think to ask at the time.

Old 06-24-2007 | 12:06 AM
Overdrive Member

I think in the area of 40-50 bucks you can get a code reader and retrieve the codes yourself and eliminate having to go and get a stupid answer. Plus OBDII is universal and will work in other OBDII cars.

Old 06-24-2007 | 11:30 AM
4th Gear Member

mine throughs that code its like po1849. not quite sure. its a generic code telling you that you have to take it to chevy because they have a "bad ***" scaner compaired to all the small auto zone ones. my tranny starts slipping and jerking into gear sometimes and the ses light will come on. i just shut the car off for 10 mins and it wont come back for a couple months.

Old 06-24-2007 | 09:26 PM
|

I had it checked again, its P1870

Old 06-25-2007 | 12:18 AM
Overdrive Member

Thats a slipping code. You will need a shop to check the operation of the solenoids with a scanner. If one or more are bad then it needs to be changed. They are inside on the valve body. The scanner will tell wich one(s) are bad. There will be two shift solenoids and a TCC soleniod. If they are all working properly then you need a rebuild.