Engine & Internal Cams, heads, valvetrain, rotating assemblies. Chat about beefing up your insides here.

Rocker Arm Trouble

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2008, 08:42 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Rocker Arm Trouble

Just rebuilt my 350 motor on a 79 z28. Everything inside the block is new, little bit of an up sized cam. Problem I'm having is that It looks like all my rocker arms are either shifted a little towards the left, or some towards the right. And one in particular when I crank the motor, the rocker arm wants to move off the center of the Valve towards the end. Even when the motor isen't running and i tighten down the rocker arm, the valve side moves to the left. I'm new with the whole motor rebuilding experience, got my dad and some other techs to help me out. I'm going to try guided rocker arms tomorrow. I don't know if the motor is actually a 79 model 350 because i purchased the car from someone else, and he "said" the motor was rebuilt but, it just looked cleaned up to me. But I had to replace the water pump in it and an alternator and power steering pump. And all the 79 applications were incorrect. Cant remember exactly what i used to make them work. But i don't know what to do, im stumped and was hoping someone could help me out.

Old 11-20-2008, 02:20 AM
Overdrive Member
Default RE: Rocker Arm Trouble

Did you replace anything in the valvetrain, or just get a new cam?

Old 11-20-2008, 05:59 AM
In the Staging Lanes