93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

How long dose it take to remove and install a new V6?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2008, 10:59 AM
Default How long dose it take to remove and install a new V6?

Hello members,

I have a quick question for you guys. How long dose it take to remove and install a new V6 in a 4th gen Camaro? I ask because a good friend just friend has asked me to do the swap for him. Itold him this would be a goods time for a LS1 but he wants to keep the V6 (good MPG).
I have been working on Toyota Supra'sfor the last 10 years but have never worked on a Camaro and have no idea what to tell him for how long it would take.

Also any advice/tech tipswould be greatly appreciated

Thank you in advance for the help.

Rob

EDIT: Fat fingers

Old 09-02-2008, 11:06 AM
The Jazz Man
ROTM Winner's Club
Default RE: How long dose it take to remove and install a new V6?

It really depends on the tools you have available. The fastest way to do it is take the engine out from the bottom, but you have to lift the car off it to do that. I've heard of people taking it out the top, but I think they had to remove the radiator, intake manifold, and the heads too.

Old 09-02-2008, 02:41 PM
4th Gear Member

Mine took a solid 4 days and that's moving on lol. But I also polished the entire block and heads and the like. Take the engine out the bottom so you don't have to fool with the radiator. The transmission has to come down with it so don't even try taking it off first lol.

Basically... It's definitely time consuming and difficult. Especially if it's your first time doing a Camaro. Just thank god he's putting a V6 back in and not an LS1.

Old 09-03-2008, 06:56 AM

Sorry I did respond to this post earlier for some reason it said I had a error with my cookies WTF?? But now we seem good to go.