93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

Freon Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2010, 11:45 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Freon Question

Does anyone know how long a small can of Freon would last as well as a large can???

Also where do I replace the Freon in a 1999 Camaro 3.8 v6?

Thanks Forum

Old 06-13-2010, 12:51 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

There is no time limit I am aware of on Freon. I was a trained AC service tech.
I have seen 50+ year refrigerator still running there orginal charges

Old 06-13-2010, 03:52 PM
1st Gear Member

there is no time limit it just all depends on how bad your leak is

Old 06-13-2010, 07:15 PM
1st Gear Member

Charge port is on the accumulator/drier - the canister behind the battery.

Old 06-23-2010, 08:03 PM

Hope you don't mind me high jacking this thread...

Anybody know how much freon & oil a 3.8 '97 Firebird should hold? I've collected all the tools and am getting ready to try my hand at my first A/C job.

Also, I've read that the system should be under vacuum for 30+ minutes. Does that sound right to you guys?

And...are there any prone problems with the A/C systems on these cars? I can not find an obvious leak via using the dye. I'm going to replace the orfice, dryer, all o-rings, and schrader valves. If it doesn't hold a vacuum, then I don't really know where else to look. Any quirks on these cars?

Compressor/clutch still good. Last summer I was able to limp it along by charging it twice. Each time it took just a little freon, not much. This summer it won't last more then a day or so. Hoping it is just a bad o-ring or schrader valve.

Old 06-24-2010, 01:36 AM
Overdrive Member

Cant tell you how much Freon you need sorry.