93-02 V6 Tech V6 Camaro General Topics.

coffee oil??????????

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2010, 06:00 PM
1st Gear Member
Default coffee oil??????????

Ok I put a new transmission in my car and while I was there changed the rear main seal and rear housing gasket. Now my oil looks like coffee with extra cream! what did I do wrong? BTW I have a 1998 v6 camaro. thanks IF you know someone who works for chevy dealer please tell them to help me.

Old 03-24-2010, 09:00 PM
4th Gear Member

Ok, don't blast me here because I am not a chevy mechanic but the back of that engine has two big holes at the top of the block where water is present and the rear housing and housing seal covers that up. You might have messed up the housing seal or not tightened the bolts to 11ft pds and then an additional 50 degrees. Sounds like water may be getting past that seal and possibly getting into the oil somehow. Check your engine coolant and see if it is low.

Last edited by osduck5; 03-24-2010 at 09:18 PM.
Old 03-24-2010, 10:53 PM
HELP ME TOM CRUISE
Yaaarrrrrr

I would agree, water in the oil does that... but, are you talking about tranny fluid or motor oil looking like that?

Old 03-25-2010, 06:42 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by cplthomas
I would agree, water in the oil does that... but, are you talking about tranny fluid or motor oil looking like that?
sorry motor oil the trans seems fine.

Last edited by hevymetalg; 03-25-2010 at 06:47 PM. Reason: spel eng lol
Old 03-25-2010, 06:44 PM
1st Gear Member

Ok ,drained oil overnight last nite and all day while at work. Got home changed oil and filter and now im draining it again:shiner: oh! I added sea foam to help. Now ill will fill again and maybe drive to car wash to clean off the under side then when I get back ill see if the oil looks better yet. It did look better the first oil change....

Old 03-26-2010, 05:32 PM
1st Gear Member