T-Top Weatherstrip replacement

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2010, 04:51 PM
Two Cylinders Short of Win
Default T-Top Weatherstrip replacement

Ok so it rained last night and my driver's seat was soaked again. Don't think I can take any more of that so I'm gonna go ahead and order this:

http://www.rickscamaros.com/camaro-d...1993-2002.html

Does anyone have an idea of how much a good price for labor would be? Or at least about how long it should it take?

Old 08-09-2010, 05:35 PM
2nd Gear member

If you take it in to a shop, you are probably looking at about an hour per side for labor.

Get yourself some weatherstrip adhesive and just do the install yourself. Save the money for more repairs or mods.

Old 08-09-2010, 06:01 PM

I've never done this before and don't want my poor install to be the reason why they still leak. Is it pretty fool-proof? (I'm not a fool or anything) lol.

Old 08-09-2010, 06:21 PM
2nd Gear member

Do one side at a time so that you can compare what you are doing with how the factory did it. I did all the weatherstipping and door felts in my '64 Nova (including front and rear glass) over a weekend. It was a lot more work than what you are looking at. Just take your time and it should come out alright.

On a side note, my T-Tops leak also, and to be truthful, I don't know anyone with a 4th gen that the T-Tops seal real well. Hopefully you will get them to seal and keep the interior dry.

Old 08-09-2010, 08:34 PM

Well that really sucks...I need to find a way to get them to stop leaking for 2 reasons. The main one being that Ill probably drive this thing all winter. This will be the only winter the car sees as it hasn't seen any yet. If it can't hold up in the rain, how the hell is it gonna do during a Chicago winter? So you mean to tell me if I go pay a shop to do it they'll still leak? Shouldn't I have some type of guarantee? lol.