Ok need your guys opinion (again)

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 11:39 PM
1st Gear Member
Exclamation Ok need your guys opinion (again)

Ok guys I am really sorry if it seems like I am over posting. But as a few know. My camaro pooped out on me. Over heated it, and now it won't start. the last it started it started shooting white smoke out of the exhaust. Ive checked the oil numerous times, and the oil is not milky. It looks like clean oil. The car has sat since sunday, so i think thats why the oil is higher. my question is, what would you guys do? All my money went into this car. Im about 2500 in. Its a 1994 v6 3.4. Is it worth fixing? How would I go about it? If the oil isn't milky is it still a head gasket? Or could it be worse? I can't drop another $1000 into the engine. The car isn't worth it. I have no experience with engines, and niether does my dad. I might get my gf's uncle to let me work on the engine in his shop, but how much could this run me? and i have no idea what Im looking for yet. The hayens manual i have doesn't say jack about the engine. Its honestly very stressful at the moment and I need a little guidance from people who know these cars, and have rebuilt them countless times. Thanks guys. I do really appreciate it.

Old 04-20-2011, 12:48 AM
Overdrive Member
Technical User

i did the head gaskets on my 95 3.4 its quite easy if you have some knowledge about cars and a basic socket set... somewhere on here i have some pics ill try to find them...

anyways yes you can deff have a blown head gasket and no coolant go into the oil it could be leaking into the cylinder and burning causing smoke pull the plugs and see if any of them are really clean like brand new if so your burning coolant causing a steam cleaning of the chamber

Old 04-20-2011, 01:21 AM
3rd Gear Member

If the car keeps failing like this one, I would sell or junk it and get something else. Nothing is worse than pouring money into a car that keeps breaking down on you.