misses and high idle after warm pls help

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2005, 03:44 PM
Default misses and high idle after warm pls help

Hello,

Im new to the camaro scene and would really like some advice. Last week I purchased a 1994 Z28 with 68,000 miles on it. The car is stock as of now, other then Flowmaster exhaust. After the car is running about 30 mins or so. It begins to miss alot and idle very ruff when sitting still if the car is in gear. The check engine light never comes on. Car had a full tuneup 3 months before I purchased it. The temp was a little warm so I replaced the thermostat this morning. It's still doing the same thing. Has anyone ever had this happen before? Any help would be greatly appreciated..thanks

Chris

Old 09-03-2005, 03:53 PM
Tech Droid
Default RE: misses and high idle after warm pls help

1) Replace ignition wires
2) Replace spark plogs with factory issue, do not change brands
3) Replace engine temperature sensor
If above fails:
4) Replace optispark and water pump. If water pump leaks it will kill optispark, so it pays to do them both at the same time

Old 09-03-2005, 03:57 PM

thanks for your quick response!! the plugs and wires are 6 months old, The water pump is 1 yr old. do you think I should do them again anyway?

Old 09-03-2005, 08:46 PM
Tech Droid

Plugs should still be good if you used stock ones. Wires should still be good unless they got burned or have internal breaks.
Have you washed your engine recently? If water got into the optispark, which is very easy, you may have to replace it, or at least the cap and rotor (MSD has a good replacement, GM only sells the whole assembly). You can try the engine temp sensor first, not to be confused with the temp gage sensor, as it is cheap compared to the optispark.

Old 09-03-2005, 09:30 PM