LT1 vs. LS1

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2007, 06:52 PM
Default LT1 vs. LS1

What does it take to make an lt1 to keep up with an ls1?
I dont know that much about camaros but I wanna learn more about them.

Yes I drive a rustang

Old 04-03-2007, 04:10 PM
In the Staging Lanes
Default RE: LT1 vs. LS1

Don't take this to heart because I'm not an expert either, I'm just getting ready to pick up a new Camaro myself. Two of my friends were arguing about this (both own 4th Gen Camaros or T/A's) and finally agreed on this. They felt that the LT1 will keep up relatively well with the LS1 in the 1/4 mile, just lagging behind a little. Supposedly the LS1 really shines in the top end compared to the LT1. I had a buddy that had a LT1 Trans Am with LS1 heades, some headers, and I think some intake and injector work and he was nipping at the heels of some SS's and WS6's on more than one occasion. Hope that helped somewhat.

Old 04-04-2007, 10:24 PM
4th Gear Member

ORIGINAL: Conundrum

Don't take this to heart because I'm not an expert either, I'm just getting ready to pick up a new Camaro myself. Two of my friends were arguing about this (both own 4th Gen Camaros or T/A's) and finally agreed on this. They felt that the LT1 will keep up relatively well with the LS1 in the 1/4 mile, just lagging behind a little. Supposedly the LS1 really shines in the top end compared to the LT1. I had a buddy that had a LT1 Trans Am with LS1 heades, some headers, and I think some intake and injector work and he was nipping at the heels of some SS's and WS6's on more than one occasion. Hope that helped somewhat.