Loss of power and performance (First Post)

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2013, 02:32 PM
Default Loss of power and performance (First Post)

Hey everyone, I have been looking for answers to my questions and I believe I have finally found the place!

I own a 1994 Camaro 3.4L V6 and I love this car! However I have started to experience some problems that I can't seem to find the solutions to. I bought the car in December and just recently started to loose power and performance from my engine. The engine only has 109k miles and I do not have any knowledge of prior maintenance performed on the car. I am new to car maintenance and repairs, but I have been working with a friend who frequently works on cars and owns a couple classic muscle cars. I have also been reading through the Hayne's repair manual for the car and have been learning as much as I can.

I have about a thirty minute drive to work, she ran fine all the way down to work. After my shift when I went to leave I noticed a sever loss in power and performance. The acceleration is sluggish and while running the car just feels "heavy". The idle is fine, it is not heavy, high, or too low. It is when I accelerate and keep a consistent speed. The things I have changed recently have been my air filer, fuel filter, oil and oil filter, and am in the process of changing my spark plugs. I bought ACDelco Platinum Rapidfire plugs as my replacements.

What else can I do to restore my engine's power? I have tried STP's Fuel Injector cleaner and STP's High Octane Fuel additive. These helped a little but I haven't really noticed a major improvement.

I couldn't stand to see this car go, nor do I have the money for a new car. I want the mechanical experience as well and have enjoyed working on this car, but I am starting to get worried that a major overhaul is needed.

Any help and opinions are greatly, greatly appreciated!
Thank you for your time!

Old 08-22-2013, 03:56 PM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM