My camaro needs some serious repairs and a new engine

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2010, 07:28 PM
Default My camaro needs some serious repairs and a new engine

My father bought this car for me before he passed away a 1995 Chev camaro used. He paid about 2000 dollars for it. The engine had about 150,000 miles on it and the car was in "Decent" conditions to put it generously. About $2300 in repairs later and 4 years from the date of purchase The engine now has about 210,000 miles on it. It is a V6 3.4 engine. My Camaro no longer feels like It did when I first got it 60k miles ago. Its much weaker and the engine seems to have a lot more of an empty power and less get up and go feel than It used to.

I'm really not a big mechanics guy...Actually I know only the basics of oil change tire change when it comes to cars. So I don't really know how engines work.

What I wanted to do is keep the car, but put in a NEW engine maybe from 2006-2007 that is more fuel efficient and gives the same power of a 1995 V6 engine. If that is possible.

Otherwise I fear that its time for me to get rid of it for good. I'm about to go into grad school and my daily commute is about 40miles both ways. The gas it uses up is just to much.

I was considering buying a Chevy Aveo or a Ford Fiesta if I can't put a fuel economic engine on the camaro. Is doing this possible at all?

Old 07-29-2010, 08:35 PM
4th Gear Member

You will be looking at more than just replacing the engine. The complete engine, engine cradle, wiring harness and PCM and who knows what else. I am not saying it can't be done but it would not be worth the money. You would be better off just getting another car. You could refresh that car with a crate engine or have it rebuilt if you are set on keeping it.

Old 07-29-2010, 08:46 PM
2nd Gear member