Any Advice?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2012, 02:35 PM
Default Any Advice?

Ok so just yesterday I bought a 1994 Camaro base at a dealership and it needs some work. I'm not a mechanic but maybe somebody here can help me Xp So I definitely need an oil change, fix up the seal cuz im leaking oil, the left blinker doesn't disengage after turning, All the gauges move when i rev, when i'm going 20mph it says im going 45 :/ , I idle at 1700-2000 rpm, and it doesn't have a good kick like it should when i want to go fast. There may be something wrong with the engine i don't know about but as far as i can tell, besides the idle and lack of speed, it works fine. I have a battery charger on it at the moment because i left the inside lights on overnight, it still starts but the bats a bit low. Any advice? (ps alignment might also be ****ed up, leans to right a bit) Its an auto v6 btw

Old 02-04-2012, 07:33 PM
In the Staging Lanes

How much did you pay?

Numerous things come to mind when you mention these issues. Head gaskets, IAT sensor, throttle body, battery.

First things first, check your fluids and try to find the oil leak. Check to see if you have coolant in you oil orvise versa. Next thing I would do is compression test the coolant system. As well as compression test the cylinders. Also look for loose wires and connections at iat sensor and battery. If the battery connections are corroded, clean them up. Have a load test done on the battery, they fo weird things when they go bad. Another thing I would do is clean the throttle body (throttle body cleaner and non fiberous rag. Lots of write ups on this) all of these things are very easy to do and should most likely be done anyhow.

Another thing I often do when buying a new car is give it a seafoam treatment. If you have any questions on this I would be glad to help. Also, google is great.

Old 02-04-2012, 07:35 PM
In the Staging Lanes

" pressure test cooling system " not compression lol

Old 02-04-2012, 07:42 PM