1993/6 cyl. - Vents don't work at all!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2013, 07:50 PM
Question 1993/6 cyl. - Vents don't work at all!!

Hey what's up everybody, I'm new to this whole forum thing and not a mechanic so please excuse me in advance, but I was wondering if someone could help me out with a 1993 V6 3.4L SFI... NONE of my interior air vents work AT ALL.. I put this in caps because so far everyone else I have spoken to about it suggests heating and cooling repairs such as the thermostat, but no one seems to be understanding that the vents are not working beyond that, as in NO AIR COMES OUT AT ALL EITHER WAY HOT OR COLD... Other than verrrrry seldomly you may turn the **** and hear something seem to come on but then very little air comes out and it's about room temperature, even putting your hand directly on the vent you can barely feel it. This is a major problem since I live in New England and realllly need my defrost to work at this time of year lol. PLEASE HELP!! Also, I was suggested a blower motor, blower motor relay, or blower motor resistor, none of which I know what or where they are. But I'm wondering why if something was broken, why does it even work at all on extremely seldom occasions as crappy as it is, or why can I hear it sometimes, isn't it if something is broken than that's it, it simply just never works again???

Old 02-20-2013, 08:15 PM
Overdrive Member
Technical User

Its defiantly a blower motor issue. So you have no air flow on any speed setting? You can jump the blower motor to the battery to see if its the motor or the relay. I doubt its the resistor if your getting nothing on any setting.

Old 03-26-2013, 12:25 PM

Originally Posted by BasicConcepts
Its defiantly a blower motor issue. So you have no air flow on any speed setting? You can jump the blower motor to the battery to see if its the motor or the relay. I doubt its the resistor if your getting nothing on any setting.