82-92 V8 Tech V8 Camaro General Topics.

305 TPI bad idle and loss of power, sometimes....

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2009, 12:41 AM
Default 305 TPI bad idle and loss of power, sometimes....

Hey all, this is my first time on this site and i was hoping someone might have an answer for my problem.
I have an 86' IROC with a 305 TPI and auto trans. Everything is stock and relatively clean. Car has about 88000 mi. Before i put it away i was driving and it started sputtering. Ever since every time ive started it up i have to feather the throttle to get it going and keep feathering to keep it going. Once a week ago I started it and it ran fine for about 10 minutes then started missing again to the point where i had to feather the throttle. Replaced the fuel filter, cap and rotor today and thought i had it. Ran fine for a half hour and let it get up to temp until i shut it off. Tried it again a couple hours ago and its back to running rough. I have no idea what this could be since it comes and goes at cold temps and hot temps. Any ideas???

Old 04-03-2009, 10:14 AM

any probs with the trans?? could be the torque converter. the tcc engages and disengages when it wants to and causes the car to stall. i've been through this no long ago. change out plugs and wires while youre at it. and check your map sensor. map sensor also causes these symptoms

Old 04-03-2009, 02:15 PM

Originally Posted by DomesticsDrifter01365
any probs with the trans?? could be the torque converter. the tcc engages and disengages when it wants to and causes the car to stall. i've been through this no long ago. change out plugs and wires while youre at it. and check your map sensor. map sensor also causes these symptoms
The car is on stands and i put it in neutral while running and there didnt seem to be an issue with the torque converter. New wires and plugs too. Ill check that map sensor though.

Old 04-03-2009, 03:13 PM