Have an issue with my new to me five speed.

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2010, 02:45 AM
In the Staging Lanes
Default Have an issue with my new to me five speed.

Hello, my name is Will, and i just bought a new to me 1986 z28! The bad...the t5 is popping out of first gear, and now after driving it a little, its getting harder to go into other gears as well! Once she is in second, or any other gear I have no problems. But to get it in their is becoming a real pain once the engine warms up.

I keep reading bad sync's....and also bent forks...but no one really knows for sure....I can yank it out and do the work myself is it's not to imvoled or there's a how to...but being honest I have never done t before. Any help would be great! Thanks..

Old 10-21-2010, 08:32 AM
April 2011 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

pick up a factory shop/service manual for your yr and model. suere sounds like the syncros are gone. personlly i dont tear into trany's or rearends so i would send it in to be rebuilt.

Old 10-21-2010, 10:52 AM
In the Staging Lanes

Yeah bro, it came with three different types of manuals! I have the service, as well as chilton and haynes! Just figure I want to get out of this as cheap as possible. Of course...lol.

Took her out today and she is gettin worse. If I play with her a bit, I can make her go into second and so on...but as she warms up she really hates to. When i first drove her home, second and all the rest were easy as hell to get into. First was the only witch....now I believe they are all wearing out pretty bad and fast!

Old 10-21-2010, 11:19 AM
In the Staging Lanes