92' RS General Project Conversation

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2018, 10:18 AM
Default 92' RS General Project Conversation

So just joined CamaroForums.com, hoping to get info as I go and have some quality conversations with enthusiasts and perhaps help a few folks out with questions as I go. So I've had my 92' for near 11 years now and she has seen her age... I'm a computer programmer not a mechanic, yet I have enough wrench time that I guess I am qualified on the subject... This is my 17th Camaro and by far my favorite. She is the Heritage edition 3.1L V6. I prefer the 3.1L for fuel economy and am interested in cruising more then speed... So please don't knock me for my block... The T-Tops are as hazed and nasty as they can get and the mileage is something over 400k. The Odometer stopped working years ago as did the speed sensor... I am keeping the Vin matching block and eventually restore the entire thing to factory plus condition. I have many projects on my hands with her. As thus far I have only ran maintenance and upkeep. At the moment I am working on getting her into top working shape on a budget. I am starting this post to hopefully showcase progress and to explain some of the modifications I will be performing... She is a daily driver so updates will be spars however I think they will be interesting... My first modification will be building a new wire loom and upgrading the OBD to OBD2. Most people do this for performance enhancement, I am doing this for a more detailed instrument panel and a more in-depth view of my various components... I will be building a digital display to replace my instrument cluster. However as I am a programmer I will be designing a custom system that will appear as the stock version... Or my take on the stock version... I figure, why mess with perfection... The long game list of projects will be very interesting and I hope innovative. I will primarily redesign the car from bumper to bumper over time. My idea is to attempt to re