Looking for some help. (REPAIR)

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2010, 09:59 PM
Default Looking for some help. (REPAIR)

Well I have another post for this car up, but this is my plea for help. I am an Oregon resident and need some help or advice on tearing down the engine (specifically the valve train) on my '90 RS. I am not sure if the problem is a rod, rocker arm or lifter but I know that valve cover needs to be taken off, and being that I have never opened an engine up I thought I would ask around here for some tips, advice or maybe another owner nearby who could give me a "teachers" helping hand on my first internal repair. I love my car and want to do the restorations myself to save money and bond with the car, and it seems no one I know has "time" or knowledge on the subject. Anything helps and I appreciate and look forward to any responses.

Cheers!

Old 01-19-2010, 10:57 AM
2nd Gear member

What seems to be the problem?

Old 01-19-2010, 02:48 PM
3rd Gear Member

Please do not go tearing off your valve cover. Unless there is catastrophic damage under there, you wont 'see' anything. Tell us first exactly what its doing, and your previous attempts to fix it. How many miles, when it does problematic behavior, etc. Dont be afraid to say things like 'it goes 'tap tap tap' or 'ping ping ping'.....telltale noises give away several different things.....

Old 01-19-2010, 03:14 PM
March 2008 ROTM

hes got another post in the third gen section. All problems point to either rocker , rod, or lifter

Old 01-19-2010, 08:55 PM
3rd Gear Member

Of those 3, on an assumed stock engine, what is the usual suspect? Ive never seen a rocker go bad, Ive only bent a pushrod when a lifter was bad. Either way, I dont think a simple pull of the valve cover is going to tell him anything. What is the gist of his problem?

Old 01-19-2010, 10:30 PM
March 2008 ROTM

if he has a loose rocker he at least knows where his problem is.

Old 01-19-2010, 11:00 PM
Senior Moderator