Fixing some things, got some questions.

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2010, 03:12 PM
Default Fixing some things, got some questions.

I am rebuilding the front end of an 83 Camaro, its been sitting about 4 months and Im going to get it today because my Maxima blew up on me! :-(

I am a budgeting college student and I just need it to get me to work and school, but for all that, the car is in really good shape. 350 with 4 barrel carb on a Aluminum "Highrise"(my dad called it?) intake, with about 27k since a rebuild. It came out of a silverado 87, along with a transmission that was rebuilt about 14k ago.

The only problem I can see with the engine is that the guy that rebuilt it didnt put the Front Main Seal together correctly and there is a small oil leak. Is this hard to fix? Compared to my maxima this thing looks super easy to work on.

But my main concern is rebuilding the steering components. Its got a new Steering Box(old one was garbage) And Im putting on a new centerlink and idler arm. I believe the tie rods are okay because when I last had it jacked up the tires had no play in ANY direction. Tight as a virgin.

I have already changed struts on it about 1k ago and since then it has been sitting. I didn't want to drive it and until recently had no incentive to try and work on it(even though i should, i know, i know, im college student after all lol)

Anyway My main question is, is the centerlink hard to change on this generation of camaro? What about the idler arm? What tools should I rent? Would a worn out centerlink and idler arm cause wobbling after hitting sufficient bumps in the road?

Some more questions:

Where is the best place/website to buy new weatherstripping?

How hard is it to change coil springs?

I was fiddeling with the idea of new rims and tires, what size would you suggest? I was thinking stock but are there any benefits for smaller/larger? I know it needs it soon because one is so old/bad shape that its disentigrating.....