Buying 3rd Gen Camaro - What To Look For?

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2009, 12:25 AM
Default Buying 3rd Gen Camaro - What To Look For?

Hi All, I am a newbie here, looking to buy a 3rd Camaro Z28 or IROC Z - most likely an 86/87 5.0L carby model, preferably a manual.

I love these cars, but don't have much experience with them, so I would love to get a few pointers on what to look for as far as common problems (areas of rust, mechanical dramas) etc or anything else that you think may be helpful.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Quinny.

Old 05-06-2009, 12:39 AM
Third Generation Moderator
March 2010 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club

For starters, is there any particular reason you're looking to go carbureted? The TPI engines will give you more power stock for stock, after all. You're not going to find one after '86 in any case. '87 and up all V8 engines had TBI or TPI intakes.

Offhand, I'm gonna suggest watching for smoke on start-up and to try and feel out the transmissions- the manuals in the 3rd-gens were not particularly tough, and especially if you plan to do a bit of modding you're going to want to beef it up or replace it.

Aside from that there'll be the usual squeaks and rattles; we are talking about cars that are over 20 years old, after all.

And I'll have to let the others mention anything else they can come up with.

Old 05-06-2009, 12:49 AM

Thanks Saint Ebony.

The reason I am looking at the carby models is mostly for purchase price - I am looking for one that needs a little work (nothing major) because this is basically a side project for me. Carby is also alot easier to tune, and the engine won't be staying standard for long anyway - I will be doing a rebuild, possibly a stroker, nice cam, nothing crazy just nice power for a cruiser - around 350hp should do the trick. If I can find an injected one for a decent price, then I will be happy to go with it.