auto vs 5spd

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 10:37 PM
Default auto vs 5spd

hey everyone im new to the muscle scene i plan on building a camaro in memory of my brother who passed away a few years back he loved the camaro had one himself. im curious though cus as im lookin for one i see alot of auto ones for sale which in yalls opinion is better auto or stick im more of a stick kinda sports car driver myself im jus lookin for opinions no need to bash on anyone here thanks u guys and gals

Old 07-31-2011, 10:46 PM
3rd Gear Member

Hey kid....welcome aboard. Now please start using proper english or we will never respond to you.

Most early 3rd gens are auto. Converting to stick isnt practical. A well worked 350 auto will run just as fast as a stick. My suggestion.....find a car that 1) you can afford 2) is in decent condition. Dont worry about the transmission. Sure, stick makes you 'feel' faster, but if its honest performance you want to go with, an auto is in order.

Old 07-31-2011, 10:54 PM

Originally Posted by ScottD
Hey kid....welcome aboard. Now please start using proper english or we will never respond to you.

Most early 3rd gens are auto. Converting to stick isnt practical. A well worked 350 auto will run just as fast as a stick. My suggestion.....find a car that 1) you can afford 2) is in decent condition. Dont worry about the transmission. Sure, stick makes you 'feel' faster, but if its honest performance you want to go with, an auto is in order.
alright thanks thats what i was looking for right there. sorry about my english never been a strong point of mine lol

Old 08-01-2011, 01:14 AM
2nd Gear member

5 speed all the way! Loads more fun

Old 08-01-2011, 05:46 AM
3rd Gear Member

Originally Posted by c4maro
5 speed all the way! Loads more fun
Dont do that! Now the kid is going to buy a V6 and expect to do a 6-8 swap AND change out his tranny! 8*p

Old 08-01-2011, 06:36 AM
Fourth Generation Moderator
October 2009 ROTM
ROTM Winner's Club