help

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 11:04 PM
Default help

i have a 1980 RS with a 350 in it. there are a few things im trying to find.
i am kinda new to all this stuff, so i need all the help i can get

first, im trying to put corvette style tail lights in and i cant quite figure out how. is there a kit for that? or am i going to have to fabricate something for it?

second, i would also like to change out my auto transmission for a manual, but i am having trouble finding an affordable place to buy one. i dont want a new one or anything, just one in good condition.

ill update with more that i need soon, and any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Old 03-18-2010, 11:24 PM
Second Generation Moderator
Feb 2010 ROTM winner
Jan 2013 ROTM winner
ROTM Winner's Club

Well I for one need more info. Like which tranny you're trying to get? Original type 4 spd., or a later T56 5spd or 6 spd? Your best bet is to try and find a donor car that's rusted out and not running, (with a 4 spd tranny) and then take everything you need from that car. bellhousing, tranny, linkage, pedals, Z bar, throwout arm, etc.
Buying all the pieces individually will break the bank, and if you use a donor car you can get other parts you might need for your car, then just sell off the remains to somebody, or scrap it out.
What type of Corvette tailights are you trying to fit into the Camaro? I doubt any of them will bolt right in without a lot of fitting!

Old 03-19-2010, 01:19 AM
Senior Moderator
January 2010 ROTM Winner

For starters, no Vette had taillights that even remotely resembles your Camaro lights. To make that work, you need to do a bit of fabricating.
For your trans swap, the best thing to do is look in ebay or craigslist for someone selling as much of the components you can find, from a stripped car. You need to swap out a number of things, and finding the parts off the same kind of car can save you time and money.

Old 03-19-2010, 02:57 PM